logo
ADULT CLASSES

Workshop

Sip and Sketch
Saturday, February 25, 3–4:30 pm
Education Center

Uncork and unwind during this hands-on workshop. Sketch a still life while enjoying a glass or two of wine—your first glass is on us.

Wine for 21+ with state I.D. All art materials provided. No experience necessary. Registration required.
YOUTH CLASSES

Youth Classes


Wee Wednesdays
Third Wednesday of each Month:
January 18, February 15, March 15, April 19
10:30–11:30 am

Free; pre-registration is required. Children must be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

Perfect for pre-kindergarteners and their parents. This hour-long Museum experience allows tots to use their imaginations during a gallery tour, story time, and a hands-on art project.

Registration is open for the following dates:
January 18
February 15
March 15
April 19

For January 18 class, registration opens December 16
For February 15 class, registration opens January 20
For March 15 class, registration opens February 17
For April 19 class, registration opens March 17


GALLERY TALKS

Gallery Talks

Thursday, December 15, 11:00 am
Friday, December 16, 6:00 pm

The Medium is the Message
Jeanne Zarucchi, professor of art history and French, University of Missouri–St. Louis

Thursday, December 22, 11:00 am
Friday, December 23, 6:00 pm

Nicolaes Maes' The Account Keeper
Samuel Harned, historian

Thursday, January 5, 11 am
Friday, January 6, 6 pm

The Great Dance of the Universe: Movement, Myth, and Meaning in Indian Art
Nartana Premachandra, author and classical Indian dancer

Thursday, January 12, 11 am
Friday, January 13, 6 pm

Manifestos and Movements: The Formation of Die Brücke
Kaitlyn Garbarino, learning and engagement assistant

Thursday, January 19, 11 am
Friday, January 20, 6 pm

The Cruelties of an Etching Needle: Goya’s Disasters of War
Maxime Valsamas, doctoral candidate in art history, Washington University in St. Louis

Thursday, February 2, 11 am
Friday, February 3, 6 pm

New on View in the African Art Collection
Nichole Bridges, associate curator of African art

Thursday, February 9, 11 am
Friday, February 10, 6 pm

The Power of Activation: The Essence of West African Art
Yvonne Osei, Romare Bearden Graduate Minority Fellow

Thursday, February 16, 11 am
Friday, February 17, 6 pm

African American Art in the American Galleries
Melissa Wolfe, curator of American art

Thursday, March 2, 11am
Friday, March 3, 6 pm

Nineteenth-Century Women Artists in the American Galleries
Beth Rubin, research assistant, American art

Thursday, March 9, 11 am
Friday, March 10, 6 pm

From Object to Artist: Women in the Collection
Katherine Poole-Jones, associate professor of art history, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Thursday, March 16, 11am
Friday, March 17, 6 pm

Modern European Women in the Arts
Sarah McGavran, senior design associate and art consultant

Thursday, March 23, 11 am
Friday, March 24, 6 pm

The Female Gaze in French Art
Jeanne M. Zarucchi, professor of art history and French, University of Missouri- St. Louis
LECTURES
Featured Presentation: Jeff Leatham
Friday, February 24, 11 am
The Farrell Auditorium

Advance tickets are recommended.

Jeff Leatham, artistic director of the Four Season Hotel George V in Paris and floral artist to the stars, is known throughout the world for his breathtaking floral installations. Join to learn about his creative designs.

City Grown Flowers?! You grew these where? Urban Flower Farming in the Heart of St. Louis
Friday, February 24, 2 pm
The Farrell Auditorium

Advance tickets are recommended.

Karen "Mimo" Davis and Miranda Duschack, owners of Urban Buds: City Grown Flowers, will discuss their experiences as farmer-florists and give a hands on floral demonstration.

Working Girls: The Milliners of Nineteenth-Century Paris
Friday, March 3, 7pm
The Farrell Auditorium
Kimberly Chrisman-Campbell, art historian

Tickets are free, but seating is limited. Advance tickets recommended.
This program is made possible by the Mary Strauss Women in the Arts Endowment.

If it Wasn't For the Women: Body, Fashion, and Art
Saturday, March 4, 11 am
The Farrell Auditorium
Aviana Brown, Katherine Reynolds, and Lina Viktor

Tickets are free, but seating is limited. Advance tickets recommended.

Enjoy a panel discussion featuring female artists and scholars as they discuss their creative practices and the intersection of fashion and body in art.

All events in The Farrell Auditorium, including free events, are ticketed. Tickets are subject to availability. Tickets may be purchased or reserved in person at the Museum's Information Centers or through MetroTix at metrotix.com or 314.534.1111. All tickets purchased or reserved through MetroTix incur a service charge; the service charge is waived for tickets purchased at the Museum.